Go Back   Ducati Forum > Ducati Panigale Forum > Ducati 1299

Ducati 1299 Ducati 1299 Forum - Ducati 1299 Panigale Superbike Motorcycle Forum

Thanks Tree24Thanks

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 26th 2018, 10:55 AM   #1

Panigale Virgin -- Be Gentle ;)

Alright fellow Hooligans

I'm finally able to pull the trigger on a Panigale -- I'm not new to bikes or Ducati for that matter, but I am new to the Panigale. FWIW, I have almost put myself on an "information diet" since they first came out for fear of wanting one so badly that I neglected some unexpected and bullshit financial obligations at the time. In fact, to date I've never ridden one, which for anyone who knows me, is almost unbelievable. So fast forward to now, and I've made the big push to get into a Panigale twin as Ducati enters the era of the V4.

I've combed through the New User section and done a fair amount of research -- I'm aware of the waterpump seepage issue, heat complaints, and Brembo M/C recall. Are there any other issues/warnings/areas of concern I need to know about (other than nail polish color, moonwalking tips, and anti-Rossi rhetoric, lol)?

Thanks in advance!

Alvin
Thanks from The Avidmoto and Dingo

Old Jan 26th 2018, 11:22 AM   #2

I Ride: 1199 - - - - - - - - - R1200GS Rallye X - - - - - Sherco 300SEF-R - - - - -
Yes well this is certainly a good time to leap in since the V4 madness has happened.

I think you've covered a few issues that some have had but with all brands there will be problems that just happen. Servicing, general condition and how it's been used as you know will be the things to think about. I've had 3 and had a pretty good run.

Welcome, enjoy and hope you get a cracker of a deal
Thanks from DucatiTerminator
Old Jan 26th 2018, 11:26 AM   #3

I Ride: KTM Duke R 1299 Pani YZF450 Saxon
Welcome to Ducati ownership 😁
Get prepared to be insulted by those who have many Ducati's